VOLUNTEERS from across Purbeck have been honoured at a special ceremony in Wareham

The event, held to mark the contributions made by volunteers across the district each year, was hosted by Purbeck District Council (PDC) chairman Cllr Bill Trite.

Each volunteer was awarded a scroll to mark their achievement, at the ceremony attended by 50 guests.

Cllr Trite told those gathered: "It is a privilege to be able to thank you for what you do and, through you, to thank all those other local volunteers not here tonight for their time and work freely given.

"It is said that the ultimate test of character is how you treat those who can never be of any possible use to you. Well, very many volunteers pass that test with flying colours."

Hinting at a possible future climate locally, Cllr Trite added: "Reductions in local authority funding means that progressively greater reliance will have to be placed on volunteers in the future - so let us never forget or overlook them."

Thirteen parishes and towns across the district nominates a volunteer of the year .

The ceremony took place at the district council's Westport House headquarters, Worgret Road, Wareham.

Volunteers of the year 2018 included Mr Campbell de Burgh, from Affpuddle and Turnerspuddle; Peter Booth, from Arne; Philip Ventham, from Bere Regis; Christopher Boon, East Stoke; Chris Spilling, Langton Matravers; Martyn Chase, Lytchett Minster and Upton; Steve Smith, Studland; Ian Brown, Swanage; Anne Laugharne, Wareham; and Sharon Palmer from Wool.

The Sandford Heritage Community Group, Wareham St Martin, also received an award.